Day Camp Reflections

Jeremy Tsao

This blog post is gonna be pretty short since I don’t quite know what to write about. This week was our first week running the Joyful Journeys day camp at the Wilkens Avenue Mennonite Church. I definitely enjoyed myself! Even in just a week, I’ve been able to form some solid bonds with the children in my camp. Though I’ve had to step up my ‘upset teacher’ face, I have had a great time watching these campers grow, even in such a short amount of time. The more I laugh and play with these kids, the more I’m feeling called to children’s ministry in same shape or form. It’s definitely something I gotta keep figuring out with God.

Aside from that, this week was a bit more draining since me and two other students were in charge of cooking most dinners for the 12 of us involved in the program. I haven’t really had too much time to sit and process everything I’m seeing and learning. (Another reason for the short post).

I guess I expected God to be teaching me something revolutionary or life-changing every week. Something I’d be able to write about and share with everyone. But He’s not, and you know, I’m becoming okay with it. I’m learning to have more patience and trust in God. He’s gonna work at his own pace and I just gotta stay faithful and be present, ready to hear when He gives me the privilege.

Thanks again for reading! Keep the prayers coming 😀

Jeremy Tsao

Leave a Reply

